Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 23rd, 2009

Don’t myth the point…

lightning-thief 

Lightning Thief

by Rick Riordan

 

12 year old Percy Jackson has just been kicked out of yet another boarding school, but it’s really not his fault.  Percy was only defending himself when his fault that his math teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him.  Of course nobody believes Percy.  Heck, Percy doesn’t even know if he believes it himself.  That is, until the mythic Minotaur chases Percy to camp!  At Camp Half-Blood, Percy learns that his father is in fact a Greek God (although he’s not sure which God).  Then, right around the time that he comes to Camp Half-Blood, Zeus’s prize lightning bold goes missing, and Percy is the number one suspect!  Now Percy, along with his friends Annabeth (a daughter of Athena) and Grover (a satyr) must find the lightning bolt within 10 days or else the Gods on Mount Olympus are gonna start an all out war.

 

Someone recommended this book to me a while go, when I looked at the back of the book, I looked at the person and handed the book back thinking “there’s no way that I’m going to read this.”  The person just handed the book back to me and guaranteed that I would like it.  I figured I would humor the them, so I read it and I have to admit, I absolutely loved it!  The book has some really great plot twists and the titles of the chapters are just so catchy.  “I become supreme lord of the bathroom” and “we take a zebra to Vegas”, how can you not be interested with chapters like that?  This is the first in a series (Percy Jackson and the Olympians) of five books, with the final book due out in May of 2009.

Jennifer is a youth services librarian at the North Regional Branch Library.

Thanks for posting, Jenn! -ml

Always,

Missy

Read Full Post »